Trippy Metal! Infernal Wrath’s Inside of Me.

Infernal Wrath is Mumbai based band. This fact alone makes me regret the fact that I’m not from that city. This band blew me away with its amazingly ethnic and naturally extreme soundscape.

“Inside of Me” is a treat to listen to, in one go. So many textures and so many variations in the span of about an hour, this album is what I’ve been looking forward to for a long time. When I say that, I mean the sound, the nature of this album. Being publically advertised as influenced by Indian Classical and World music, this band has done justice to bringing that sound immaculately into this production.

This album has all the elements of this grind meets black genre, but then it is sprinkled with stilted yet unexpected classical signatures with instruments ranging from the sitar to the cello (or at least that’s what it sounds like in The Swordbearer). This Forever Lasting Journey surprised me with a piano solo of the kinds of current trends of New Age artists. I definitely did not anticipate this, knowing full well that this is was self-proclaimed experimental undertaking.   Not highly intricate or of multiple layers but quite the atmosphere creator.

I’d say this album deserves the shelf of those who like a trip and do not just stick to Dubstep or Floyd while enjoying that buzz. I would’ve love to proclaim it as inspired by Indian culture, but I guess we’re not there yet. But this album and this band definitely has made quite a leap down that particular road. Up-coming bands should take a leaf out of Wrath’s book and see how well classical could gel with Scandinavian extremes.

Having said enough about the production and its diversity and concentrating more on the efforts by the band members, I’ll say it’s a decent job done. Work done on the keys was layered and the sampler used efficiently and quite successfully maintained the ethereal feel in the album. The riffage is memorable with my favourite being Inside of Me and Behold Ezekiel. Drums were actually overshadowed with the shear variety portrayed here.

Vocals I did not like, at least not while it was being delivered in the guttural manner typical of earlier death metal artists. It was too heavy for the patches used and quite the ambience-killer. But here too was an exception, were it was spot on in the track At the Foothills of Palestine.

I found this album quite a welcome change and for a debut album of this sorts, this band is what you need to keep a track of.

7.5/10

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

